Page 1 of 1

Dropdown Menu on mobile

Posted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 1:01 pm
by HFlouch
I have two issues with the dropdown menu on mobile.

1. It doesn't show when I rotate a mobile to landscape orientation.

2. The menu is too big on mobile. Please can someone share how I can show / hide the dropdown menu.

Re: Dropdown Menu on mobile

Posted: Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:08 am
by IronWagen
1. I had the same issue. The problem is that in the skin editor, the "Dropdown Menu" has a logic block in visibility (player height <= 340) This hides the menu in landscape.

2. You can control how the menu looks with regular css. Or you could create a copy of the menu, make it smaller, and use the 'Is mobile' logic block to show it only on mobile.

Re: Dropdown Menu on mobile

Posted: Thu Jun 22, 2017 12:44 pm
by HFlouch
Great. That's really helpful. Thank you. I appreciate your taking the time to reply.

Re: Dropdown Menu on mobile

Posted: Thu Jun 22, 2017 2:18 pm
by HFlouch
I copied the menu and tried every which way to get things showing and working on both mobile and desktop. I have the menu in a show/hide container and I wonder if the logic blocks of this container were getting in the way. I have text boxes working just fine on the same tour with the 'Is Mobile' logic block.

Any road up, after an hour or so of trying I gave in, deleted the copy menu and lo and behold, somehow the original copy started showing up in mobile landscape. Go figure. I've no idea how to reproduce this in the future though.

On a related topic, if anyone reading this can give me some clues on placing things in the canvas, I'd be very grateful. At my current level of understanding, it appears almost random. Changing percentages for the position seems to have an unpredictable impact and dragging them on the canvas has what seems the same. Is there a help page on this?

Re: Dropdown Menu on mobile

Posted: Thu Jun 22, 2017 3:07 pm
by 360Texas
just guessing about the randomness.... maybe it flows from purging cache and you are now seeing results of your current changes ?

Re: Dropdown Menu on mobile

Posted: Mon Jun 26, 2017 8:36 am
by IronWagen
Try using pixels and anchor point for setting the position. Percent based position is relative to the container the element is in, so if the container is not placed correctly, then the element will most likely go to the wrong position also. I usually make a container with width 100% to position 0px 0px and anchor it to top left corner. It then acts as a top bar where I can place the elements I want to be in the top of the view.

Re: Dropdown Menu on mobile

Posted: Mon Jun 26, 2017 6:06 pm
by Hopki
Hi,
I would probably uses scaling for this.
Under the scaling logic block use something like this:

Screen Shot 2017-06-26 at 16.51.53.png
Screen Shot 2017-06-26 at 16.51.53.png (23.39 KiB) Viewed 3598 times

You would then need to set the scaling anchoring position:

Screen Shot 2017-06-26 at 16.51.42.png
Screen Shot 2017-06-26 at 16.51.42.png (16.81 KiB) Viewed 3598 times


Please see project attached.
You can add more expressions, as an example:

Screen Shot 2017-06-26 at 17.05.17.png
Screen Shot 2017-06-26 at 17.05.17.png (43.72 KiB) Viewed 3598 times
Regards,
Hopki