Some thoughts and ... How are tours for businesses linked to Google search?

keith@fachwen.org

I'm very new to uploading panoramas to Google. In the past I used the smartphone app to upload one high resolution pano to see how it all worked. I never even checked to see where or how people could find it through Google search or Google Maps. This process was pretty tedious as my equirectalgular image was quite large and was slow to manage via the iPhone app, so I never tried to do this more than once.

I was never motivated enough to learn to use Google's own tools and workflow. To me the focus seemed to be on fast shooting, low quality tours for little financial reward.

This pano has received over 3000 views apparently, far more that the same pano received on my own website. Nice how Google emailed me very time it went past a 1000 views too.

Over the last 2 days I've been experimenting and used Pano2VR to upload some of my previously authored tours to Google Maps. I more or less just clicked on the 'Upload to Google' button, no extra work involved. All very simple, thanks Garden Gnome :D . I now have over 60 approved images uploaded and this morning have received Google Trusted Photographer status. I don't really know what this means, I get a free digital badge, marvellous :shock:

Trying not to be too cynical... I really like how all of my panoramas appear in the Smartphone app browser. All visible and kind of filterable geographically speaking. So all of my panos could be seen through one map window. This is good. As the panos are hosted independently of me they will be live 'for ever'.... Handy for when I'm no longer around :cry:

I'm quite tempted to upload all of my individual panos and tours, so more people might see them 8)